goodnewsheader

Take a look at this wonderful poem that recently took the Pongo Poetry Prize for teen poets. Written about her experiences dealing with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome type 3, the 17 year old poet studies Early Childhood Education at the University of Cincinnati.

DIDN’T ASK
by a young woman, age 17

Everyone wants to be different,img_20160808_210746.jpg
But not like this.
The struggle, the pain, the guilt.
The feeling that no one understands.

I didn’t ask to be different.
I didn’t ask to be special.

I try to remember to do my best every day because the next day might be worse.
I want to run a 5k.
I want to be on the honor roll.
I want to be a teacher.
But what if it gets too bad?
Will I ever finish college?
Will I ever hold a job?
Will I ever get to hold my own newborn child?
Or will I sit alone unable to move from the fear of getting worse?

I didn’t ask to be different.
I didn’t ask to be special.

But what if this difference can make me stronger?
What if I can be the voice for the people who are sitting alone?
What if I can be the teacher who understands?

What if I can prove that being different made me better?
I can
And I will.

I didn’t ask to be different.
I didn’t ask to be special.
But I’m glad.

*Originally posted by Pongo Teen Poetry

Leave a Reply

