Fascia Treatments for EDS and Fibromyalgia 

For the last six months, I’ve been doing a new home therapy designed to break down fascia and I’m happy to report I’m more than impressed with the results. I have seen a great deal of relief from symptoms that stem from my Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome as well as my Fibromyalgia and POTS. I would recommend this treatment for anyone looking for relief and/or improvement in any of the following categories:

Improved:

  • Circulation and blood flow
  • Joint stability
  • Flexibility
  • Nerve conduction
  • Cognitive function
  • Sensation in extremities
  • Ability to build muscle
  • Energy
  • Hair Growth

Decreased:

  • Muscle and joint pain
  • Headaches & migraine symptoms
  • Tremors and yips
  • Dependence on muscle relaxers and pain reliever
  • Numbness in extremities
  • Cellulite
  • Parasthesis
  • Dizziness and POTS symptoms
  • Brain Fog

What is Fascia?

fascia

Fascia is a type of fibrous connective tissue that is dense and firm. It lays beneath the skin, binds the muscle together into bundles and connects it with other connective tissue such as tendons and ligaments, wraps the organs. In essence, it is the glue that holds the soft tissue of our bodies together. In Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome and Fibromyalgia, fascia is often dysfunctional, overgrowing and constricting the muscle. Often, it begins to strangle the muscle and nerve fibers within, causing muscle cramps, poor circulation, an inability for the muscle to function properly, and when those muscles are connected to joints, they can pull on tendons and ligaments, impeding the proper function of the joint, causing instability of the joint and even causing them to shred or tear.

This study suggests a strong connection between fascia and the neurological problems associated with Fibromyalgia: Fascial Plasticity – A New Neurobiological Explanation.

Why Fascia Therapy Helps

Fascia therapy seeks to break down this overgrowth of fascia, freeing up the muscles and allowing them and all corresponding connective and nerve tissue to heal and function properly. Once the muscles are freed from this overgrown cage, muscle pain is eased, nerves heal and begin to receive signals properly, corresponding connective tissue and joints function properly, restoring balance and coordination.

A Proven Device Used for Fascia Therapy

The device I use was recommended by another woman with EDS in a holistic EDS treatment group I belong to and those of us in the group who have been doing these treatments religiously have all reported positive strides in our progress.

Trials were recently completed on the device and while the full findings have yet to be published, some preliminary findings have been released. The article provides some great details about how it changes the biology and aids the body after just 90 days of use. It can be found here. This article, The Science of the Fasciablaster Revolution, provides a detailed accounting of the many ways fascia work is known to effect the body.

The device, called a FasciaBlaster, is marketed primarily to rid yourself of cellulite and let me tell you, it works for that, too. That’s because cellulite is created by dysfunctional fascia and if you have EDS, you probably have more than your fair share. The dimples and lumps that make up cellulite are the skin being pulled unnaturally by these bundles of fascia, almost like stitches gathered in cloth. Before I began my treatments, my thighs and bottom were mottled like cottage cheese, but it’s getting a whole lot better using the FasciaBlaster. I can hardly believe I almost have smoother legs than I had when I was a teenager!

Of course cellulite isn’t the reason I’m using it, but it’s a nice bonus. Another bonus is that you can actually sculpt your body with it by targeting specific areas and utilizing the fat lysing technique (contracting the muscles during treatments), once your fascia have been properly prepped after several blasting sessions. The inventor, a sports medicine guru named Ashley Black has videos that will show you how if you’re interested. Be aware that this will NOT break up fascia, as the muscles must be relaxed during treatment for their effective breakdown and of course this is what will give you the most needed health benefits. Still, if you seek to lose weight and are having the same difficulties I am, you may want to consider adding fat lysing to your therapy once your fascia are in decent shape. I myself have just begun these treatments and they’re going quite well.

Here’s where you can purchase the Fascia Blaster and learn more about it. This little guy, called the Mini 2

wp-1488913718000.jpg

is also essential to the kind of work you will likely be doing and I highly recommend you purchase both. If you are on a fixed budget and can only buy one, consider what your biggest problem areas are. If you’re looking to work on your head, hands, neck, and arms the Mini 2 is the one for you. If the trunk of your body and thighs seems more important, start with the full sized unit first.

I started with the full sized unit and bought the Mini 2 a few months later, but once I got my hands on the Mini I knew it was a mistake to start with only the full sized unit. I get so much relief from doing my hands, head and neck and it wasn’t until then that I could stop my full-time use of anti-inflammatories, muscle relaxers and tramadol. And yes, it does seem to be helping my migraines as well as my tension headaches, perhaps because it’s helping my circulatory and neurological systems as a whole.

Getting Started

To get started, here are the 29 fascia blasting zones along with the basic do’s and don’ts and a full body tutorial where Ashley Black tells you how to do your treatments. Below are a few personalized tips for zebras and spoonies I have compiled from my own personal experience:

  1. If at first you don’t have the strength to do it on your own, have someone do it for you. My husband still helps me with hard to reach areas. Do what you can, though. It can provide a good work out for little used muscles.
  2. Your first treatments will release a lot of fascia, which naturally means your body will have to rid itself of a lot of toxins. Limit these treatments by going fast, but applying only light pressure and only doing your body in sections. Then give your body ample time to heal. Watch your weight. It will go up because of inflammation from the treatment and back down once you have healed.
  3. Avoid subluxations and other injuries by allowing someone to help you with hard to reach areas.
  4. If you have issues with grip, use the Mini2 and always treat your hands and wrists at the end of your other treatments to relieve them of pain. My hands were one of my most painful body parts, but they’re getting better! Even my tremors and yips are greatly improved.
  5. Be sure your skin is well oiled. I use coconut oil in excess so my skin can’t soak it all up. You can also order oil from the site, but Coconut oil is my preference since it’s healthy, natural and my skin is super-sensitive.
  6. Rub hard enough to be effective, but don’t hurt yourself. Ashley Black says you should never experience pain over a 7. As people who suffer chronic pain, our pain meters may be a bit off, so don’t go crazy. If you can feel the pop of the fascia releasing under your skin, you’re pressing hard enough.
  7. If you don’t have the energy for a warm up and you’re heat sensitive, try a heating pad for a few minutes prior to treatment or do it as part of your bath if you can. I often just lay under my comforter for a while to warm up. Seems to work well enough to start, but the heating pad is best and you will make better progress a little faster with heat.
  8. Conserve your energy. Work one area of your body a day or every couple of days. For example, I do my calves one day, my thighs 2 days after, my stomach 2 days after that and so on. Sometimes I have to take a few days in between because I just don’t have the energy. Don’t feel bad about it. It’s a journey and you’re not going to win the war against your fascia in one day or even one month. More than likely it’s going to take months to even a year, though each treatment brings relief, if a bit or soreness at first.
  9. Never work an area of your body that’s still sorely bruised (and if you’re doing it right, you will bruise in most areas to start!
  10. If working on a particular issue, be sure to look for advice and tutorials among Ashley Black’s vast collection. Doing only the affected ares is rarely enough, due to the interconnected nature of fascia; it’s one giant network throughout the body (see my fasciablasting resources, linked below).
  11. Blasting your head can sometimes produce a sensation of nausea, especially if you have a lot of fascial adhesions. This passes quickly when you stop blasting. Try moving to another portion of the head to quell the feeling and then going back, working a little at a time as you can tolerate it. As the fascia uncoil and improve, you’ll no longer experience this sensation.
  12. Never fasciablast your carotid artery. This could be fatal.
  13. Always drink lots of water to help release toxins after blasting.
  14. Take occasional breaks to allow your body to heal and rest, but not too long. You don’t want to delay your progress!
  15. Do use your fasciablaster on your tender points. It will hurt like hell, but you will find that they become less and less tender and some will even disappear. I’m seriously beginning to believe these tender points are actually caused by dysfunctional fascia.
  16. Concentrate on sore spots and muscles that cramp frequently when blasting. This tends to indicate fascia bundles that are particularly resistant and the poke and wiggle technique helps to alleviate cramping (that’s what the pointy ends of the Mini 2 are for). You can even feel lumpy adhesions shaped like balls and ridges once you begin to break through the mess.
  17. Be stringent in your practice to begin. Once you’ve established a routine, you’ll find that returning aches and how much better you feel from regular treatments will naturally keep you diligent about your practice.
  18. Read through Ashley Black’s blogs including how to’s, warnings, advice, etc to ensure you use it safely and effectively.
  19. To help with post-blasting pain, soak in a tub of hot water. This also helps the bruises fade a bit. If the pain is persistent, use a topical analgesic such as biofreeze or a capsicum cream.

If you decide to take on this therapy, please contact me and let me know how it’s going. I’m excited to hear from you!

UPDATE: After speaking with several people regarding this post on Facebook and Twitter, I made some changes to this blog post to more accurately reflect the full changes I’ve seen. I will continue to do so as I make new discoveries. I also want to be clear that I use the FasciaBlaster in conjunction with other therapies that also help my conditions. However, using the FasciaBlaster has definitely given my health a big boost in these areas and correlated directly with my regular use of the device because they happened with the use of the device alone. Also, when my practice dropped off for a few weeks, so did my health! If you are in a position that prevents you from being able to use the FasciaBlaster, take a look at the list of supplements I have provided on “What got ME out of bed” for a few ideas on how to take your first steps toward wellness.

For more information, tips, and resources, check out these articles on FasciaBlasting:

11 thoughts on “Fascia Treatments for EDS and Fibromyalgia 

  1. I am so excited that you are of the same mind — it seems to me that, in particular, the EDS Lipodema people are suffering from messed up Fascia – the fascia is preventing the waste products to be eliminated from the body, and end up being stored as fat. The fascia tangles the nerves, causing pain in the “fat”, and the cold fat is caused by blood flow not being able to get to the surface of the skin.

    In addition, I’m of the mind those EDSers who have persistent bruises that take a long time to resolve are also having issues with fascia, and the movement of the blood out of that area.

    Those who are looking for myofacial release – are they also at the mercy of their fascia? Their muscles are “trapped” by the fascia? And their nerves are tangled in the fascia??

    I really think so. In addition to my FasciaBlaster treatments, I’m also having Medi-cupping done — that pulls a vacuum on the skin, theoretically also returning blood to the surface/ and separating the fascia layer. (My alternative to having someone else Fascia Blast while I’m still “weak”)

    Thanks so much for such an in-depth article — I had watched many Fascia Blaster videos, but did not know of the links for the 29 zones or the full body workout.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cheryl, thanks for taking the time to comment! I do think fascia is part of the problem in some types of EDS and an inability to get myofascial release compounds many EDS related symptoms. I also think it puts a great deal more strain on our already loose tendons, increasing injuries, pain and comorbid conditions. Having treatments done is a great way to get started! I know little about medi-cupping, but I found their website in case people want to explore the option; http://medicupping.com/. My understanding is that there may also be treatments available in sports medicine, so that may also be something for people to explore with their doctors.

    Like

  3. I think I may have stumbled onto something. The chick who created MELT has created a device called the Fascia-Releazer. It’s expensive and sold in Germany, but it relies on stroking the fascia with vibration. The science looks good (http://www.fascia-releazer.com/science/)
    I’m having a hard time breaking through my bound fascia to get any blood flow. I’ve just added Ashley’s fascia pulling and I think I’m going to try adding vibration into my routine. Start with heat->fascia-pulling->oil->vibration->FasciaBlaster. And see what happens.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Cyrilla. Interesting find! Can I ask how long you’ve been working with the FB and what areas you’re having difficulty getting blood flow in? Often, especially if you have EDS, it can take several treatments to get the fascia open enough to get good and red, which indicates positive blood flow. At first, skin coloring may not change at all, then will mottle or become splotchy during treatments, then finally the whole area will turn bright, blushing red. If you’ve been doing the treatments consistently in the same area for longer than a couple of months, I’d definitely consult the videos and tutorials and even #askashley if you’re still not seeing these blood flow indicators.

    Like

Leave a Reply

