FasciaBlaster’s Fab Little Sister; The FaceBlaster

faceblaster

The FaceBlaster does so much more than it’s name implies. So much so that I feel like it’s a bit of a misnomer. Yes, incredibly it can sculpt your face and often times eliminate many of the most hated signs of aging such as a sagging jawline: However, the marketing around these devices for their beauty benefits is really kind of makes me shake my head in disappointment because I fear it masks their incredible ability to bring such positive change to people who have been suffering for years, if not decades.

I myself searched for over a decade to try to find something that would adequately treat my chronic pain and symptoms due to strongly suspected Ehler’s Danlos Syndrome (EDS), Fibromyalgia (FMS), and Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS), along with Degenerative Disc Disease and a few other comorbid factors I could bore you with, but you can read about elsewhere on the blog. Suffice it to say that I have a modicum of connective tissue, neurological and autonomic problems as a result.

Full Sized FasciaBlaster -vs- The FaceBlaster

If you aren’t familiar with what a FasciaBlaster does, It’s important to have a good foundation to fully understand this article. See my first article on working with one and how it can help then return here to learn about the added benefits of the FaceBlaster. In this article, I will concentrate on how they differ and compare and why both are necessary to treat the whole body.

While the full-sized and mini2 FasciaBlasters helped me to work out many of the fascia problems I was facing, these products both come with rather large sized prongs.

At top, the Mini2. Bottom, the FaceBlaster.

The large prongs on the full sized blasters are perfect for most of the body; the entire core, upper arms, thighs and calves. You can even get a good deal of migraine relief by using them on your head and face. However, the FaceBlaster was just what I needed to help relieve my remaining issues in the finest boned areas of the body not only relating to the head and face, but in the hands, wrists and feet.

As a general rule, I’d say any place on the body that lacks large muscle and or fat as a protective covering, the FaceBlaster is going to be more effective at treating fascia than the full-sized products. This is because the delicate claws can get down into these tiny muscles and deeper between the bones and tissue. This makes it more effective on the skull, as well as the face, hands, wrists feet, the bony protrusion of the shins and so forth.

The FaceBlaster Produces an Immediate Reduction in Symptoms

The FaceBlaster is incredibly effective in these areas. I’ve only had mine 10 days, but it’s already made a huge improvement in my carpal tunnel symptoms, my migraines and reduced the numbness in my right leg that I was told I would live with for the rest of my life.

As anyone who reads my blog on a regular basis knows, I have suffered from non-stop head pain for almost a decade and have had migraines for 20 years. The constant pain and other symptoms of migraine, along with POTS forced me to live a life sequestered to my room with little light and sound because I simply couldn’t bear it. It was no life at all. While doing the migraine series with the FasciaBlaster helped significantly improve these things and pretty much eliminated my light and sound sensitivity, I still experienced almost daily breakthrough pain when becoming active for more than an hour or two a day. While I could get relief from these breakthrough migraines by doing another treatment of the head, face and neck, I was starting to feel like I was living with the mini2 glued to my hand.

As soon as I began using the FaceBlaster, the time between migraines began to extend. Now I can go two days in between migraine series treatments without any “touch ups” and still have a perfectly clear head even when I’ve spent time doing fairly rigorous activity. Over the last four days, I’ve actually been completely migraine-free. This is a huge step for me, as I haven’t known head pain free days for years without constant intervention. In the last 10 days I’ve taken one triptan, which was really my own fault for leaving the house without a blaster!

The change in my wrists were immediate and staggering. I treated them the first day I received my FaceBlaster and was rewarded with the immediate cessation of numbness that I had been living with since I was a bank teller 21 years ago. This numbness always began in my hands every time I type, hold my cellphone, a book or do pretty much any activity.

Curious to see how long this would last, I opted not to treat my hands again until the numbness returned. It took until day 9 to feel that tingle again. I also noticed it greatly extends the amount of time it takes for me to begin experiencing pain as a result of activity and I’m hopeful that with continued treatments and the ever increasing blood flow and nerve flow that I will be able to build healthy new muscle in my hands and wrists and I will continue to regain more of the motor control I have lost.

When I treated my feet, I was extremely cautious with my right foot as I have a lot of nerve damage in that foot from my back surgery.  While I experienced no numbness prior to my surgery in this leg, most of my pain radiated down that leg and when I woke from surgery, I awoke with a beehive of buzzing from my kneecap down. While I’ve suspected that a little of the feeling has returned over time with the use of the full-sized blaster, it wasn’t enough to be sure. With the FaceBlaster, the change was immediate and undeniable.

I felt the numbness shift and is now mostly confined to just the tiniest bit of the calf (which I began blasting with the FaceBlaster when I realized how it’s affecting my foot) and my two smallest toes. It feels incredibly strange to have almost normal sensation in this foot again.

There’s a spot at the top of my foot that when even brushed produces a feeling akin to what I imagine a cattle-prod feels like. As I work it with the FaceBlaster, it’s becoming less and less sensitive, too. It appears that my fascia, which had been trying to compensate for the damage in my back and the muscles that were being pulled as a result, simply got so congested that they were constricting the nerve flow and causing the localized numbness. With time and effort, I may have a fully working leg again. I look forward to finding out and reporting my findings to you.

I must offer one caveat to these amazing findings. Since I’ve already been working with the full-sized FasciaBlaster for approximately 8 months, it’s quite likely my results aren’t exactly typical of someone who is starting out working with it for the first time. If you are just starting out, you will see immediate improvements, but know that it can take time. The severity of the problem and other factors can certainly make results vary, though I have yet to find a single person who has said they haven’t seen positive changes quickly when using the device properly.

Treating Migraines with the FaceBlaster

You use the FaceBlaster to treat migraines just as you would with the full-sized blaster. This Ashley Black tutorial will help you get started. Since migraines are caused by many mechanical issues and chemical issues and can put the fascia in many parts of our upper body in crisis, it’s important to treat all the areas the migraine series indicates; the head, temples, forehead and jaw, the neck, chest, back and arms.

Once you get your migraines under control and most of the fascia in good shape, you will know where your migraines develop and what to focus on most. You will feel the soreness beginning to build before the head pain or other symptoms actually start and this is the best time to address them; before they actually turn into full blown, distracting pain. While you want to treat all of these areas, you can make the most of your treatments by focusing the brunt of the treatment on these problem areas. It will actually happen kind of naturally, because you’ll want to rub these areas until the soreness is relieved.

Treating your Carpal Tunnel

Carpal Tunnel actually involves the hands, wrists and tissue throughout the forearms, so it’s important to work all of these areas with the FaceBlaster. You want to be firm, but gentle, working the prongs into every nook and cranny of the hand, wrists and forearms, spending time on every joint, juncture and cleft. In the meat of the hand and arm, dig a little deeper to be sure you get into the fascia and be sure to stay with working in the same direction. For some reason, this is a challenge for me on the hands.

When working in these areas for the first time with the FaceBlaster, you may feel something akin to tiny shocks. Don’t be alarmed by this. I’ve heard this reported by others and experienced it myself. I believe it’s just feedback from nerves that have been cut off for such a long time.

It’s always a great idea to treat yourself from forearm to fingertip after blasting sessions to relieve any aggravation you’ve caused during treatment. It’s a common complaint among Zebra’s, as most of us suffer from hand pain for one reason or another and a quick treatment of these areas is a quick and easy fix. I also have been known to treat my hands with a topical analgesic such as biofreeze to help with this problem.

I’m not going to go over treating feet, as the same principles really apply to the feet as they do the hands and I really don’t suffer from any specific problem, so I fear I won’t be any help to those who do. I can tell you that the old ache from an injured achilles tendon no longer bothers me, though I achieved this with the full-sized blaster.

Treating Localized Numbness

While localized numbness can be caused by a lot of factors, many times the culprit lies in myofascial dysfunction and it’s never a bad idea to try both the full-sized and FaceBlaster on these areas, no matter the amount of tissue. I said at the beginning of the article that one is more appropriate than the other depending on the structure, but this may be the exception to the rule, such as with my calf. For whatever reason, the fine claws of the FaceBlaster are helping my nerve entrapment on my calf, and so may help it in other areas. I would not, however, recommend using the FaceBlaster alone, but rather in concert with the full-sized blaster in such cases to ensure you’re getting both the deep tissue work necessary as well as the more delicate penetration of the FaceBlaster to see if it can help break free and stimulate the finer nerve fibers.

My only criticism of the Faceblaster actually has an easy fix; it’s a slippery little sucker with no natural handhold. But a couple of ponytail holders create a band to secure it to your hand and a loop you can use to hang it for storage in the shower. 

Pretty nifty, right? Just a little something I picked up from a woman in my fasciablasting and Ehlers Danlos group. There’s no end to the wealth of information in such groups, so if you’re going to take on blasting to improveyour health, be sure to join one.

Considerations for Choosing the Right Blaster

The drawback for some with purchasing the FaceBlaster is that it currently only comes packaged with the blasting oils and not everyone wants them because of skin allergies or just personal preference. I have found that it’s easy enough to find someone who wants to buy them, however and a lot of women are making deals through the blasting groups on Facebook. I personally didn’t want to wait until the FaceBlaster is released this fall without the oils because of everything I had heard about their effectiveness in treating the above problems and I’m so glad that I didn’t let it prevent me from taking the plunge. After only ten days, I’m thoroughly impressed with the results.

For others, money is an issue and they can only choose one blaster to get started. This is one of the reasons, among many, that I’ve taken the time to provide my thoughts on the two different sized products and how they benefit the body. I feel deeply that holistically, the whole body should be treated and everyone is going to get the best results by doing so. But the reality is that if you’re disabled, it’s not unlikely that you’re living on a very limited and fixed budget. For me, I purchased each item one at a time, as I could afford them and they became available. Ultimately, you have to decide what’s best for you. If migraines are the primary thing you’re looking to fix, though, I’d probably start with the FaceBlaster and get a full-sized blaster as soon as feasible. I got a lot of relief from the full-sized blaster, but I feel like my progress is on warp speed now that I have the FaceBlaster. In fairness, it’s hard to go wrong with any of these products, though.

For more information, tips and resources on blasting, visit:

Happy Blasting!

 

 

One thought on “FasciaBlaster’s Fab Little Sister; The FaceBlaster

Leave a Reply

